Nothing else will fit right

We’ve been in a spring cleaning mood around here for the past couple of weeks.  Okay, my husband’s been doing just about all the cleaning.  But today I decided to pitch in by attacking the piles of old t-shirts clogging my dresser drawers.   Solution: T-shirt yarn!

I used Arlette’s helpful tutorial.  Just look at the old t-shirt haul.  I still have a packed garbage bag full.

Since I was using the dining room table for my workspace, I protected it with several layers of newspapers and then an additional tablecloth on top.  Turned out to be a good idea since the cut-up t-shirts shed lots of little bits of fabric; when I was done, I just balled up the top tablecloth and threw it in the washer.

Cut off the bottom hem and the top design/sleeves section (the crossbar of the T).

Fold up so that there’s an inch of fabric at the top with a closed edge.  Slice strips all the way up through the folds to that inch.  I did some with 1/2″ wide strips, most 1″ wide.

It ends up looking like this. (See those flecks from the previous white t-shirt? I wasn’t lying.)

Connect the cuts over that top edge in a spiral fashion. Arlette describes it much better than I could.

If you have a good helper, she can participate in the really cool step — tugging at the long strip so it curls up on itself.

See?

You end up with a pile of relaxed tubular fabric.

Roll it up into balls.

Helpers are good at doing that, too.

Pretty soon you’ve got nine smooth balls of cotton fabric, ready to be knit up into rugs or bags or whatever. And nine less t-shirts. After we stored them with the rest of my stash, my helper told me that I was recycling. “That’s right–I’m recycling old t-shirts into something I love!” I replied. And together we yelled out: “Yarn!”

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

One Comment on “Nothing else will fit right”

  1. Arlette Says:

    What a fabulous grouping of colors you were able to pull from your t-shirt collection. Hooray for t-shirt yarn and for cute little helpers too!
    Aloha!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,969 other followers

