I couldn’t get any bigger with anyone else beside of me

IMG_3743.JPG

Pattern: The Ultimate Hat by Sun May (Rav link)
Yarn: Oberlyn Yarn Stella (50% alpaca, 40% merino, 10% cashmere), colorway 2055
Needles: U.S. 7 and 8 Harmony wood Options 24″ circulars (magic loop)

When I get in the mood for stashbusting, I cast on hats. When I get in the mood for using the single skeins that I buy as trip souvenirs (a collection that I think of as the Stash of Precious Yarn, or SPY), I cast on hats. When my ears get cold walking my daughter to school in the dead of winter, I cast on hats.

IMG_3736.JPG

All those impulses came together in this hat, the result of a long search for a cabled slouchy hat with a touch of luxury. I bought the yarn in Montreal during the 2009 AAR annual meeting. The picture above is me modeling it, for a change. I finished this hat in three days, so desperate was I for warmth on those early morning walks, and so happy was I to have this amazing yarn sliding through my fingers.

IMG_3746.JPG

I can turn up that long brim for a double layer of protection when the wind really gets to howling down Bruce Street. And the yarn is so soft and light that wearing this hat is like wearing a cloud. Perfection.

IMG_3740.JPG

Pattern: In Bloom Beret by Britney Waterhouse (Rav link)
Hook: U.S. J (6.0mm) Tulip Etimo
Yarn: Stitch Nation Bamboo Ewe (55% bamboo, 45% wool), colorway Sprout

I made this hat for the second annual Craftin’ for CASA sale this past February. My criteria were stashbusting, fast, and appealing to a casual browser.

IMG_0281.JPG

I don’t remember who bought it, and apparently I didn’t get a picture. It sold, though. The kids these days like ‘em super-slouchy, worn practically hanging vertically off the back of their heads. I can’t fathom how they keep them on.

IMG_3738.JPG

I’m down to just a couple of hats sitting on my charity/sale/random gift shelf. And I’m in the mood for some stashbusting and indulgent, SPY-based knitting. Time for more hats.

Explore posts in the same categories: Crocheting, Knitting

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “I couldn’t get any bigger with anyone else beside of me”

  1. twallisstone.wordpress.com Says:

    Love the photos!
    Cheers!

    Trish


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,267 other followers

