Motif #5

Basket of eggs motif The first set of freshman papers are being graded, and my husband is back from his trip, so my tatting leisure time has been a bit more limited this week. Once I got done with two consecutive evenings of work Monday and Tuesday, I was able to finish and block my fifth motif last night.

This is “Basket of Eggs,” from A Pattern Book of Tatting, in DMC Cebelia #10. I made a mistake on the next to the last large interior ring, and didn’t attach it at both picots.

Time to make something a little less big and bold — a little more delicate. I’ve got an Altin Basak #50 blue-white variegated that I’m going to use for the next motif, which is going to be mostly chains — not my favorite kind, but I’m trying to expand my horizons.

Explore posts in the same categories: Tatting

5 Comments on “Motif #5”


  1. I really like this one. I’m not sure what it is… it’s loopyness maybe.

  2. Jenn Says:

    I’m really enjoying the tatting. You’ve picked some really great patterns to do–not at all old, frumpy, or something that looks like it should be shoved in the closet and only brought out when great-aunt Mildred comes to call. So much fun!

  3. terrythetatter Says:

    You never mention mistakes. I really like the movement in the design. Thank you for sharing!!


  4. Really nice site you have here. I’ve been reading for a while but this post made me want to say 2 thumbs up. Keep up the great work


  5. Are you interested in my right output Nice joke! Where does a one-armed man shop? At a second hand store.


Leave a Reply

