The Heel Turns

Sock home stretch

Welcome, alien visitors!

While my regular blog, Union, Trueheart, and Courtesy, is down for repairs along with my trusty MacBook, this will become the vacation home for my daily blogging.

While ordinarily this is my craft blog, the daily blogging won’t be craft-related.

Except for this one. You see, I turned the heel.

Now this heel didn’t turn without incident. I forgot to slip at least one stitch on the flap selvedge, and this complicated picking up the gusset stitches after the turn. Once everything was joined back again in the round, I discovered for the first time that I had dropped a stitch on the top, and had to pull it back up over stitches that had been joined together on top of — so it’s pretty obviously a mistake. (I am gratified by the fact that at least 90% of my regular readers are now muttering “gusset? selvedge?”)

But the important thing is that the heel turned, the gusset decreased, and I am happily stockinetting away on the foot. My motto is: “My second miniature sample sock will be much better.” Hey, I’ve never even knit anything in the round before, never use dpns, never picked up a stitch, never did a short row on purpose. I think I’m doing pretty good.

Did I mention that I turned the heel?

OK, tomorrow it’s back to your regular scheduled theology, movies, kid anecdotes, and links to things I wrote elsewhere. Because there’s no way I’m getting to the toe by the time I blog tomorrow. Rest easy.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

3 Comments on “The Heel Turns”

  1. Jenn Says:

    I’m so incredibly jealous…I’m going to have to pick up my sock now. Well, after next Thursday, when my paper’s done.


  2. Hooray! You turned the heel! Isn’t it sort of magical how it all comes together and start looking like a sock? When I did my first one, I keep looking at it and showing it to people! I was like a proud pre-schooler who had just learned to print my name. LOL

  3. Jen Says:

    The first heel-turning moment is truly a milestone… someone mentioned your blog tonight and I went searching…. socks are the best knitting projects, and the heel is the best part. I share in your awe. (Now I want to put down the blanket project and go back to socks….)


Leave a Reply

