In the club

Oh, yeah.

My invitation to Ravelry, the awesome knitting/crochet organization and social networking tool, came today. I’ve been diligently adding my finished projects and works-in-progress, and have yet to get to the stash or queue sections (yarns and projects waiting to be knitted).

I have to admit that I feel like a member of the insiders, like I got into the speakeasy. Other than the few people who read this blog, and the few knitblogs on which I’m a regular commenter, I’m not exactly integrated into the knitting community. Signing up on Ravelry is a debutante ball, a coming-out party, an introduction into knitting society.

Is it important to me? Well, I lay awake last night for about 45 minutes coming up with and rejecting Ravelry screen names. My usual donnadb? Unpronounceable and uniformative — I wouldn’t want to be addressed as “Donnadb” in the forums or in private messages. Something knitting-related? It would feel like posing; I haven’t been a knitizen long enough. How about a mention of my degrees or position, via “doc” or “prof” something? I don’t want to come off as a tweedy academic, much less seem to be lording it over my unpedigreed but much more knowledgeable neighbors.

Today after I actually got the invite, I spent another fifteen minutes staring at the little message on the screen warning me to pick a name I can live with, because I won’t be able to change it. Good Lord, I didn’t need any more pressure. Finally I went with the name of my favorite fictional character*, risking geek ghettoization in a group of people whose respect I want more desperately than I could have ever imagined.

I hadn’t been building my profile for more than a couple of hours before a Ravelrian sent me a note commending my choice of name, and adding me as a friend. My first Fraveliend! And naturally she’s got a blog that’s much funnier than mine, and just look at that list of projects, and … well, I’m a newbie, and I’m just lucky that the tradition among internet crafters is to indulge the fumbling n00bs. I hope I don’t embarrass myself too terribly with the natives. In a few months I’ll be tolerantly bemused at the flood of crafters who pile onto Ravelry after it emerges from beta, reminiscing about the good old days when it was just me and 7000 of my closest, invited friends.

* How cool is this? Two years ago, a blog post I put up mostly to test the new A.V. Club site features got a total stranger to read the book. The internet has power.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

2 Comments on “In the club”


  1. You mean I need to think of another “name” when I finally get let past the velvet rope? Guess it’s a good thing I have plenty of time to think about it. 🙂

    The humoring and encouraging of newbies is one reason why I have come to feel so at home in the community. In so many areas of life people are competitive and interested in oneupmanship. Knitters don’t seem that way, at least not those I’ve encountered. They want to see the novices succeed and spread their happiness.

  2. Skwid Says:

    Ha! I wondered if you’d ever see that…


Leave a Reply

