Hopelessly devoted


Essential Vogs

Pattern: ‘Vog On by Aleta Fera
Yarn: Knit Picks Essential Multi “Special” (75% superwash merino, 25% nylon), Blue Violet colorway
Needles: U.S. 2 (2.75mm) 32″ circular via Magic Loop method (Knit Picks nickel-plated Options)

After picking my way through sock #1, I zoomed through sock #2 in marathon knitting sessions on Petitjean Mountain, and bound off yesterday during a student presentation on Second Life. These socks aren’t perfect, but I love them with a passion.

I knitted the “Tequila Sunrise” toe-up version of these any-way-you-like-it socks.  The toe-up heel flap is a wonderous creation in and of itself, but these socks have an eye-of-partridge heel to boot. You can see near the bottom where I dropped one of the slipped stitches and picked it up in the wrong place a row later.  Other mistakes learning opportunities: figuring out I needed to increase on the toes with kfb rather than lifted bar; putting an extra row in the lace repeat on the instep; doing something weird with the short row wraps on the right side that made them the very devil to pick up.

A stockingette foot gives you a good idea how this new variegated yarn knits up. Once the gusset increases started about 4″ from the heel, there were a couple of pools on top and bottom.

My first picot bind-off! This technique of casting on two new stitches then binding off four creates a zigzag edge with little points all around. No problems with stretchy-enough cuffs using this method.

It’s 90 degrees today, on the first day of fall. I can’t wait until it gets cool enough to slip on some handknit socks and a pair of clogs and stroll down the street like I’m the queen of Sheba.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Hopelessly devoted”


  1. Bravo! Now if I could only borrow some of your sock knitting enthusiasm to finish mine…


  2. […] they are, my ‘Vogs, completed last month right around this time — coincidentally, also the last time we had a […]


  3. […] on the Embarcadero this morning (up early thanks to the time change).  There they are with my Essential Vogs, looking out over the harbor.  And thanks to the knitting I got done in the day-long board of […]

  4. Toxophily Says:

    […] at $2.99 per 50 gram ball, if I remember correctly.  I got the Peacock colorway from which I made my ‘Vog Ons, and loved it so much that I ordered the other two that were in […]


  5. […] at $2.99 per 50 gram ball, if I remember correctly.  I got the Peacock colorway from which I made my ‘Vog Ons, and loved it so much that I ordered the other two that were in […]


Leave a Reply

