In all directions

Pattern: Multidirectional Diagonal Scarf by Karen Baumer
Yarn: Noro Kureyon, colorway 164
Needles: U.S. #9 bamboo (Peace Fleece handpainted)

Not too much I can say about this finished object because it’s a Christmas surprise. (If you’re a member, you can see more on my Ravelry project page.) So I’ll just talk about the yarn. Ever since I’ve been knitting I’ve been hearing about Noro, the Japanese variegated yarn with the world’s most beautiful colors. Then ever since I got on Ravelry I’ve been hearing from people who were disappointed with its thick and thin spots, occasional knots, and bits of straw stuck in the fiber. Um, whatever, knitters. This is some gorgeous stuff. It does range from overspun to unspun within a few feet, but that’s part of the rustic texture that gives it character. I ran into maybe five or six small pieces of vegetable matter in three skeins, and one knot. I’ll just say this: I have another three skeins of a brighter colorway that I got in the same sale to knit yet another Christmas surprise, and I cannot wait to watch those colors flow.

I’m whipping up a quick Pinwheel Dishcloth for the Team XDR reverse swap, getting ready to bind off the first B2B sock, and contemplating my first ever sweater for the NaKniSweMo knitalong. Here’s the yarn:

and the carry-along for the middle section:

for what’s billed as “the easiest sweater you will ever make,” Stefanie Japel’s Simple Knitted Bodice.  For the fear that this sweater has struck into my heart — something that has to FIT?! — it had better be easy.  Sadly, this yarn was snagged at half-price from my LYS, which is closing at the end of the month.  Farewell, Bella Lana!

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “In all directions”


  1. […] Dwayne all suave in the Multidirectional Scarf […]


  2. […] within hours or days of coming home with me. This Noro knockoff became a new version of one of the very first scarves I made for a family member. This time I made a lot fewer mistakes, which I’m sure the eventual charitable recipient will […]


Leave a Reply

