Our hearts were ringing

Pattern: Simple Knitted Bodice (Ravelry link) by Stefanie Japel
Yarns: Elsbeth Lavold Silky Wool (65% wool, 35% silk), Vibrant Green colorway (6 skeins); Trendsetter Jester (80% rayon, 20% nylon), Lime/Pink colorway (2 balls)
Needles: U.S. 6 and 4 24″ Knit Picks nickel Options (sleeves Magic Looped)

My first sweater. Reaction #1: I can’t believe I knit the whole thing. Reaction #2: I am master of the universe.

The only finishing there is to do when you’re done knitting is to sew down two inches of neckline and weave in the ends. Pure brilliance. I can’t wait to start my next sweater, but I gotta tell you — the top-down raglan has won my heart.

This sweater isn’t perfect. I was so terrified of making it too small that I made it a bit too big. I’d be less concerned and more trusting of the stretchiness of stockingette, next time. I committed early to make it in a DK weight yarn, which meant I had to decrease the needle size to make a nice fabric, but I couldn’t decrease down correspondingly in the smaller needle because I didn’t have a #3 needle — and that means the center panel doesn’t pull in as much as it should. I’d love to make it in a yarn closer to the recommended weight and needles closer to the recommended size, to see if I could get something truly fitted.

Plus I’m smaller in the gut than I was when I started this, way back in late October as an early start to NaKniSweMo. (Speaking of which, how about that late finish?) I was terrified of how the fittedness in the waist would look on my bulges. Now I’m much less self-conscious about that area (thank you, flavored water!), and I hope to be confident about something sleek and shapely next time.

What will that next time be? Well, it will probably be a while (maybe November). But Labyrinth, the new Wendy Bernard design from Stitch Diva Studios (the good folks who brought me the SKB), is bewitching, is it not?

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Our hearts were ringing”

  1. maureen Says:

    Beautiful! I’ve never done a sweater for myself, so I’m very impressed. I too am looking at Labyrinth, but I’m sure you’ll finish it before I start it, so you can tell me how it is.

  2. kikimarie Says:

    i really like the color you chose for that sweater. it’s very nice.


  3. Gorgeous! Absolutely beautiful shade of green, my fav.!!!


  4. Wow, Donna. I’m really impressed. Great job!


  5. […] 190 yards of Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool (DK weight), the same yarn I used for my Simple Knitted Bodice) […]


Leave a Reply

