Sugar on the asphalt

Pattern: Jaywalker (Ravelry link) by Grumperina
Yarn: Knit Picks Felici (75% superwash merino, 25% nylon), Arugula colorway
Needles: U.S. 1 (2.25 mm) 40″ Knit Picks nickel fixed circular (2-at-a-time Magic Loop)

I thought for awhile there that I’d get this pair done when pigs fly. And — as you see.

After getting almost halfway done with a toe-up variation, only to find the heel method too perplexing for me, I started over from the cuff with the original pattern. That’s a lot of knitting two rows, over and over and over, first one sock then the other then starting round with the first again.  My Ravelry notebook tells me that I started the cuff-down version on April 6 of this year, but after flying through the Sock Wars III socks in a week, two months feels like a heck of a long time to spend on a pair of socks.  These were my on-the-go-knitting; they were put aside at home in favor of scarves and other bigger, more glamorous projects.  So they got one or two rows at a time, when there were spare moments during a busy day, and many days they didn’t receive a single stitch.

But I was in love with these colors. Tone on tone, dark stripe, light stripe, wide and narrow in turn. I wanted these green socks on my feet, in all their jaunty, zig-zaggy glory. It took airborne swine to do it, but they got done. And I’m just as delighted with them as I hoped I would be.

My two-at-a-time methodology was pretty shaky. I ended up with the heels on one side and the insteps on the other, as intended — but I was knitting different rows on either sock by that time, which circumstance, combined with the start of the round in the middle of the foot and the slipped stitch on one side but not the other on each pass, made the foot a constant exercise in reading the knitting.

But frankly, I don’t know why anyone would knit a self-striping sock without this ingenious, bold chevron. It makes the stripes sing, doesn’t it — turning the ordinary into the absolutely extraordinary.

The desire to see how other stripes would respond is almost overwhelming. I could run through all the Felici colorways one after another, and never run out of fascination.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Sugar on the asphalt”

  1. catknitsalot Says:

    Wow wow wow is all I can say. I queued this project in my Ravelry notebook right away. Thank you for sharing the pattern.


  2. Since you’ve obviously got the sock bug, could you enlighten those of us who haven’t seen the light?


Leave a Reply

