This is your night tonight

Pattern: Endpaper Mitts by Eunny Jang
Yarn: Knit Picks Palette (100% wool, fingering weight), colorways Purple and Ash
Needles: U.S. 0 (ribbing and thumb) and 3 (colorwork) circular needles (Magic Loop)

I gratefully accept this medal on behalf of my nation.

It’s been a long, hard road to the gold. I had never done any stranded multi-color knitting before casting on for this project. But I wanted to learn. And the Ravelympics gave me the perfect excuse to challenge myself.

I knit the first mitt’s bottom ribbing on the wrong size needle. I was nervous about tension with the colorwork until a kindly commenter gave me the tip to turn the work inside out and work on the far needle, so that the float go around the outside of the work rather than cutting corners on the inside. I learned the Italian tubular cast-on (via this no-waste-yarn method) and the kitchener rib bindoff (via this tutorial). I jumped prematurely into the thumb gusset on mitt #2 after only two pattern repeats, knit all the way back to Chart A, then had to rip it all back to get that third repeat in. And the last goof was only two days ago. I was sure that my Ravelympics was over.

But good coaching, the support of my teammates, and old-fashioned American foisting-off-your-children-on-your-spouse got me all the way to the finish line this afternoon. And now I know: I love two-color Fair Isle. Love.

I’m pretty sure that’s the second mitt I knit on top in the photo above. It’s much better than my first effort; the tension is more even, the pattern is more regular and pops out better. I can’t wait to do another stranded knit. This was the perfect introduction. I’m hooked.

I’ll be back in 2010, you bet your beach volleyball bikinis. And I’ll be looking to show some young whippersnappers how we did it in Beijing. 2008, son. Old school. 24 karat.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “This is your night tonight”


  1. Impressive work.

    On a scale of 1-10, how hard would you say Fair Isle was to learn?

  2. Doc Thelma Says:

    I love your fingerless gloves. If amy of your knitting team members would like to donate some to a worthy cause, I have a bunch of Girl Scouts heading for a dogsledding trip in Maine this winter.

  3. Janice Says:

    Congratulations on earning your gold medal–bravo!

  4. Kimberli Says:

    Excellent!! Love seeing them all dolled up with their hard-earned medal and ready for cold weather! What’s next, huh? I’ll be watching your 2-stranded efforts…because I’m a terrible knitting voyeur! That’s why I don’t get much done…too busy building Villages and standing at the sidelines cheering 😉


Leave a Reply

