And one even longer coming down

The Yarn Crawl DK! I had a free day in Aarhus after my conference was over, and having seen how easily navigable the downtown area is on foot, I determined to find the Aarhus yarn shops — if they existed!

Shop #1: Fandango

Strictly speaking, this was shop #1.5. I arrived on the street at about 10:15, but Fandango didn’t open until 11. So I walked a bit further down the street to Askeladen, a charming toy shop that also happens to carry some yarn. I bought trinkets for the kids, but no yarn — wanted to check out the real LYSes first.

Fandango was beautiful. I snapped a picture of the inside — the only shop in which I did so. It’s intimidating to take pictures of somebody’s store displays.

The place was lousy with Noro. You can see it there on the left side of the photo and on the center table. Oh, my Lord. But I was looking for Danish yarn in particular, so I left with no fiber but with four buttons for my Drop-Stitch Lace Tank (6 DKK apiece), which lacks only same to be completed. Total damage: 24 kroner (about $5).


Stop #2: Garnlageret

This cozy store was actually full of Danish women shopping and chatting! I settled on this slightly heathered blue-green fingering-weight merino. I was looking for (1) color, (2) yardage and (3) squooshability (essential for packing), and this 450 meter skein fit all three bills. Total damage: 66 kroner (about $13).


BC Garn Lucca Fino

Shop #3: Isager

No photos of this one. A beautiful large shop, but most of it is the actual packaging operation, since the yarn sold is a house label that is shipped all over the world. I didn’t see anything that met my criteria without being laceweight (a hurdle I haven’t tackled yet).

Shop #4: Ingers on Volden

Another designer’s store, but here I saw a large variety of products that met standards 1, 2, and 3. How could I resist this deep heathered red? It’s actually more wine-colored than it appears in my photo. Fingering weight and a whopping 540 meters. Total damage: 120 kroner (about $24).


Design-club.dk Duo

What a day! I’m thrilled. Over on my daily blog I’ve posted loads of pictures of this beautiful town (starting here). Check it out!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “And one even longer coming down”


  1. Those yarn shops look beautiful, even from the outside. I’m also impressed by the prices, despite the exchange rate. Thanks for sharing pix!


  2. Cool! Glad you got to see several and share them with us.

    You’re right, whipping out the camera to take a picture in a LYS can feel unseemly.


Leave a Reply

