The dreams that you dare to dream

Pattern: Nalu Mitts (Ravelry link) by Leila Raabe
Yarn: Knit Picks Telemark (100% Peruvian highland wool), Snow Leopard colorway (discontinued)
Needles: U.S. 3 nickel Options 32″ circular, Magic Loop style

I’ve knit a lot of things that I love. My Ravelry notebook is packed with projects that show a great big grinning smiley face, and there’s almost nothing with the blahs. I think my knitting is awesome and the patterns are marvelous and the results are astounding, and I’m predisposed to be delighted with what I do.

But this is a whole ‘nother level of love. This is True Love. This is soulmate stuff. I look at these gorgeous ice-colored mitts; I feel their crisp, dry, rugged texture; I trace the sharply sculpted cabled ribbing that winds sinuously up their backs; and I want to wear them forever.  They.  Are.  Perfect.

I had my doubts that I’d be happy with anything I found to do with the two extra skeins of Telemark left over from that long-ago Moguls scarf.  Telemark is a hard-wearing outerwear yarn.  It’s not soft and squooshy — quite the opposite.  But I was trying to stash-bust for Christmas presents, and I liked this mitt pattern that called for sport-weight yarn.

Within twenty rows, I knew that this was going to be an epic love affair.  With one mitt done, I despaired of ever letting go of them.  And when I photographed them, I could have left them on all day — so warm, so light, so natural.  So me.

Will they go into a bag and give joy to some relative or friend?  Probably.  But I’ve had to put them away with the other handmade gifts to lessen the temptation of pilfering them for myself.  Stay tuned to see if I ultimately resist.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “The dreams that you dare to dream”


  1. Neat pattern.

    If it helps, my experience with making something to give away that you like is to get it out of your possession as soon as possible.

  2. GleeMarie Says:

    I have the same affliction – I made my aunt a pair of Fetching mitts, they are lovely plummy alpaca/silk/merino and they BEG me to obsessively try them on… I need to wrap them…. will they still call out to me from the box…. 🙂


Leave a Reply

