No wonder my happy heart sings

My mom is visiting us, along with my dad, while Noel is away at the Sundance Film Festival. They’ve been helping out immensely. I expected the delicious home-cooked meals we’ve been enjoying since Friday. What I didn’t anticipate was that they’d save my bacon when the furnace failed, and they shivered while waiting for the repairman while I had to be at work.

I think this is a great picture of my mom wearing the cowl I made for her for Christmas. But I know she’d disagree.

Like a lot of woman of a certain age, Mom hates having her picture taken. Starting Christmas Day when I talked to her on the phone, I made it clear that I needed a picture of her wearing it for my project notebook. She put me off, jokingly from a distance, but then more adamantly when she got here. I only got this snap by pretending that I wasn’t including her face in the photo, and she barely stood still for it. This was the second shot (I really did only photograph the cowl in the first), and she’s bolting for the street — I’m surprised the picture isn’t a blur.

I know Mom is serious about thinking she looks terrible in pictures. And I’m sure I’ll be the same way in a few years. We carry around the image of ourselves in our heads, and it gets frozen at a certain age. We don’t like to be reminded that we’ve moved on from that point. Mom says that she’s lost weight, and her face is too thin, and she looks terrible. And given her vehemence, I’m sure she believes it.

But to me, she looks just the way I remember her throughout my upbringing. When I see pictures from that time, she seems impossibly young — too young to have kids, practically a girl. In my memories, she’s exactly the way she is now — maybe a little more spry, maybe a little lighter on her feet, but mature, smiling, authoritative. A mother.

I know my dad will look at this page, but I hope he’ll see fit to keep it a secret from Mom. I want to add her face at this moment to all my memories.  She may not believe it, but it fits right in.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “No wonder my happy heart sings”

  1. Doc Thelma Says:

    I discovered when I did myself that Obamiconification procedure erases wrinkles quite nicely. But your mm might appreciate that even less.

    Very nice cowl!


  2. As you know, I’m not a woman of a certain age, but somewhere along the line I decided that I do not like having my picture taken. Maybe it’s the unnatural nature of posing for a photo. Maybe it’s not being satisfied with how I look in pictures. Or maybe it’s just that I’m a pain.

  3. cynthia Says:

    First, let me say that I’m a huge fan of your posts. You’re on my List Of Ravelry Favorites, and I often share your stuff with my knitting friends.

    I am writing everyone on my Favorites List with a couple of questions. If you can answer them for me, it would be a HUGE HUGE HUGE favor. Really HUGE.

    Thing is, I am writing a piece on Ravelry for my college magazine. Topic is WHY Ravelry is such a huge success. I need opinions from fellow Ravelers like you to back up this claim I am making.

    These are the questions:

    1) Why did you choose to join Ravelry?

    2) How did you learn about Ravelry?

    3) What does Ravelry give you that other sites don’t?

    4) Absolutely anything else you’d like to share with me on this subject.

    My quandary is this: I love the site and come here almost every week to look for knitting tips and ideas. (I haven’t joined yet, as I am too shy to talk of my own work…)

    I want to understand why others do the same. Each person must have his or her own reason and I am very curious to understand this trend.

    Once I write the piece, I intend to send it across to Bob the dog. Maybe, he will post it on the site to encourage newcomers or even use it for other promotion purposes.

    Thank you in advance

    Keep writing, keep sharing, keep creating
    Warmest regards
    Cynthia

    My Email address is:
    cynthiachesterfield@gmail.com

  4. Lisa Says:

    Your words about your mother still looking the same to you reminded me of this bit from one of Shakespeare’s sonnets:

    To me, fair friend, you never can be old
    For as you were when first your eye I eye’d
    Such seems your beauty still…


  5. […] she and Dad arrived to help me take care of the kids while Noel was at the Sundance Film Festival. I made her a cowl a few years ago that she loves. But I made it with buttons — at the time, thinking that it […]


Leave a Reply

