Living in a powder key and giving off sparks

Pattern: Armwarmers by Twisted Stitches
Yarn: Patons Stretch Socks (41% cotton, 39% wool, 13% nylon, 7% elastic), Olive colorway
Needles: U.S. 2 nickel Options fixed 47″ circular (two-at-a-time Magic Loop)

I really wanted a pair of long fingerless gloves. Why, I don’t know. The pictures I saw looked so stylish, so elegant. I fell in love with the pattern pictures of these simple, shaped stockingette tubes, irresistibly mottled in floral colors.

A strong variegation would just look like messy, pooling camo without a pattern to break it up, I thought. But maybe this yarn, with its colors muted by a white twist, wouldn’t end up screaming at the world.

I’m still a newbie when it comes to color sense. I can’t picture how a striking yarn in the skein will knit up. I find myself drawn to the oddest things — brights one month, muted earth tones the next, shades of black and white and grey the next. If a variegated colorway works out, it’s not because I pictured it, but because of a happy accident.

And this one worked out. Oh, how wonderfully it did. I could wear these everyday — and since they’ve been finished, I’ve tried.

They’re light as a feather, but warming on a spring day when the wind makes bare arms inadvisable. I can’t deny that wearing them makes me feel like a movie star or a fashion model. Just that little extra flair, that flourish beyond the utilitarian.

Who could have guessed, when I picked up the yarn on a whim at the local big-box crafts store, that its pedestrian pedigree would blossom into something so extravagant?

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Living in a powder key and giving off sparks”


Leave a Reply

