Hey look I’ve changed

Pattern: Flippant by Sivia Harding (Rav link)
Yarn: Patons Stretch Socks (41% cotton, 39% wool, 13% nylon, 7% elastic), Olive colorway
Needle: U.S. 1.5 (2.5 mm) 40″ nickel Options circular (two-at-a-time Magic Loop style)

About a year ago, I bought a pair of sandals on a whim. They were cushy. They were good-looking. They were on sale for practically nothing.

They were also, I realized when I tried to wear them for the first time, half a size too big.

Combine this problem with another problem I gradually began to have over the next year: rather large amounts of leftover sock yarn. Whaddya get? Mini-socks. Socklets. Flippants.

Advantage #1: Use leftover sock yarn for something other than the scrap pile.
Advantage #2: Slightly enlarge the size of my feet in a limited area so as to make them the size of my sandals.

Unforeseen advantage #3: Hey, I like the lace pattern on these!
Foreseen advantage #4: Cushion that area between the big and second toes where the thong part of sandal always rubs.

Am I ready for summer or what?

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Hey look I’ve changed”


Leave a Reply

