For helping me escape when I needed to

Pattern: Filagree by Robin Melanson, from Knitting New Mittens And Gloves
Yarn: EL. D. Mouzakis Butterfly Super 10 (100% mercerized cotton)
Needles: U.S. 6 Harmony wood circulars (magic loop but not 2-at-a-time since I forgot to leave the center-pull end out when I wound the ball …)

Why yes, it has been that long since my last finished object.  In my defense, I’m stockpiling WIPs for WIP Wrestlemania 2009 (kapow!).  The count currently stands at 10.

And this was supposed to be one of them. But when I pulled it out of the stack of small bags in my personal projects club (bag #29, project #5), overcame my fears of using a DK-weight yarn when worsted is called for, and got about halfway through the first glove, I just couldn’t stop.

I’m having to restrain myself for casting on again for the wrist-length version right away. Takes almost no yarn. Cool and airy, perfect for summer. Stylin’ and utterly profilin’.

Of late I’ve only wanted to knit garments … sweaters, skirts, coats, the bigger, the better. I just want to lose myself in a long-term project like I lose myself in a long book, the kind you don’t want to end.  (Another reason why the FO gallery has been gathering dust.)

But now I remember why I love fingerless gloves. Sometimes it doesn’t need to be all about knitting your way up Mount Everest. Small accomplishments can be open secrets — walking the red carpet instead of holed up in a closet waiting for their debut. A bold, wearable accessory that makes any day into a fashion statement. Done in a couple of days. A thing of beauty, a joy forever, a gift to yourself whenever you slip them on.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

