You can dance if you want to

Pattern: Fish Hat [Dead Or Alive] by Thelma Egberts
Yarn: Plymouth Encore Worsted (75% acrylic, 25% wool)
Needles: U.S. 7 Harmony wood Options circles, magic loop style

Pattern: Knit Coffee Sleeve by MissKnittyPants
Yarn: Knit Picks City Tweed HW (55% merino wool, 25% alpaca, 20% Donegal tweed with viscose naps), Jacquard colorway
Needles: U.S. 6 aluminum straights

As WIP Wrestlemania 2009 enters its last hours, I have two final finished objects to show for my labor. Archer’s fish hat has been waiting for its felt and embroidered eyes since late March. The coffee sleeves (gifts to be sent to my teaching assistants with Starbucks gift cards to thank them for their assistance in my freshman final exam competition this spring) were simply waiting on a final grafting session. (Not pictured: the Malabrigo sleeve already given to Karyna, since I had dinner with her earlier this summer).

My tally: Out of 11 works-in-progress I tagged in June to be part of the competition, I completed nine. One was over two years old. Six only needed finishing (ends woven in, buttons sewn on, etc.).

I know I never would have finished the Dragon Sleeper baby blanket if it hadn’t been for this three-ring circus of a Ravelry event. And I’ll bet a few of the others that just needed the finishing touches would still be sitting with bags of notions at their sides, while I indulged in knitting instead of the sewing they required.

So I’m enormously grateful to WIP Wrestlemania 2009. And I’m proud of my record. But oh, the cast-ons that will be coming tomorrow! First up, I’m thinking novelty hats for the kids’ birthday party in three weeks … a Hello Kitty hat and a Chain Chomp hat … I have everything I need except for black yarn …. [and so the yarn buying cycle begins anew. It is nature’s way.]

I’ll let Archer’s magnadoodle have the last word.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

