That’s my speed and direction

Pattern: Enjoyable Rib Scarf by Anne K.
Yarn: Yarn Bee Bamboospun (77% bamboo, 23% polyamide), red colorway
Needles: U.S. 9 bamboo straights

Things are not good at my workplace. No, I’m in no danger of losing my job. But the control I have over the conditions of my job seems to be dissipating.

At times like these, knitting is truly redemptive. Especially when you are knitting for someone who has not had as much control over their lives as I have enjoyed.

My first Red Scarf Project scarf for the year, and I hope not the last, is the therapeutic Enjoyable Rib Scarf in plush, cushy Bamboospun. The fabric produced by this combination of yarn and pattern feels like chenille. It’s comfort food for the neck. You just can’t help stroking it, burying your fingers in it.

The Red Scarf Project sends Valentine’s Day care packages to orphans attending college. Could there be any more perfect charitable cause for me? I work closely with college students. I adore and feel very parental toward my students. I love my children, and my highest ambition for them is that they feel loved and valued.

Life is unpredictable. Sometimes you have to ride the waves; sometimes your head is barely above water. A little thing — a handmade scarf, a warm embrace, created out of love — can be all you have to hang onto. Each stitch is a tiny moment of control. Each gift is a relinquishing of the need to have control.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

