From a mess to the masses

Pattern: Springtime Bandit by Kate Gagnon
Yarn: Knit Picks Andean Treasure (100% baby alpaca), colorway Olive
Needles: U.S. 9 Harmony wood Options 36″ circular

Everyone’s wearing these triangular scarves these days. And I’ve been dying to knit one. Here’s a cloud of alpaca lace to drape around the neck and over the shoulders, a perfectly addictive little project.

Once I started making my way back and forth across the chart, increasing steadily and forming beguiling leaves and shapes, I could hardly make myself stop. In less than two weeks, I was finished.

And I find myself imagining a new style for myself, one that includes beautiful lace tossed casually over a t-shirt, tank, or blouse, under a coat or jacket, anywhere, anytime. I imagine myself as a woman with accessories, with insouciance, with comfort and adornment. Knitting has given me quite a gift — a new vision of self, a new sense of accomplishment, a belief that I can remake myself with sticks and string, fabric and air.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Leave a Reply

