Give this song another listen

Pattern: Cabled Rangoli Hat by Desiknitter
Yarn: Dream In Color Classy (100% merino), colorway In Vino Veritas
Needles: U.S. 5 Harmony wood 32″ circulars (magic-loop style)

Oh, those beautiful skeins of Classy. They feel like a cloud, and they look like a painter’s palette. And this hat took just over half of one. I almost can’t commit to make anything in particular out of Classy. Nothing seems like it will use enough of the yarn and show it off to greatest effect. But I must say that this hat comes close.

The kids at my knitting group believe they could never do cables. I believe I can never stop doing them. Slip, knit, then switch places with a stitch (or two or three) magically hanging in midair as you accomplish it. So fast and so utterly beguiling.

Those are my first bobbles, and half-hearted little bumps they are. Rather than attempting p5tog, I did p3tog, slip back to left needle, pass next 2 stitches over, sl back to right needle, continue. The texture is there, but I wouldn’t call it a bobble, exactly. More like a nub.

It’s kind of ridiculous to be able to make something so luxurious, so subtly shaded, so textured. But that’s not all I made.

Pattern: Not Quite Straight Scarf by Nicole Hinds (Rav link)
Yarn: Knit PIcks Andean Silk (55% alpaca, 23% silk, 22% merino wool), colorway Fedora
Needles: U.S. 9 wooden straights

This was my don’t-have-to-think-about-it knitting for a few weeks. It accompanied me to church, to class, to meetings, to the library. I had to start it three times to get the tricky knit-purl-knit-knit-purl-knit repeat down, but once I memorized which rows were which (purl on 2 and 5, increase/decrease on odd rows) and as long as I kept my StitchMinder handy, it practically flew by.

The idea was to make a manly scarf in a manly color. But now what to do with it? Is there a gift recipient in my circle of gift-giving that would appreciate it? Or should it go to the Red Scarf Project?

Not to worry. Whatever becomes of it, whoever receives it, the important thing is that I produced it. I enjoyed myself thoroughly doing so. It’s soft, warm, and stylish. The value is in the accomplishment more than in control over the recipient. A thing of beauty is a joy forever.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Leave a Reply

