That you only meant well

Pattern: Laredo by Angela Hahn
Yarn: Valley Yarns Goshen (48% Peruvian cotton, 46% modal, 6% silk)
Needles: U.S. 7 Harmony wood Options 60″ circular (magic-loop style)

It takes a long time for most of us knitters to make a sweater for our significant others. There’s even a name for it — the Sweater Curse. If you jump the gun on committing to the marathon that is sweater knitting before you’re sure that the relationship is for life, the saying goes, it’s splitsville. Hoping that thirteen years of marriage is enough, I suggested this vest to Noel. Ignorant of the curse, he assented enthusiastically. With my heart in my throat, I cast on.

I knew I wasn’t going to get it done for our anniversary (modern gift: textiles!), but I still knit like my life depended on it. The charts with twisted stitches started off slow but sped up after a couple of repeats. The yarn was smooth, buttery, light, and the exact same colorway as the one specified in the pattern — I stared at the selection for hours, but the Fern color just couldn’t have been more perfectly masculine.

Knowing that cotton would grow, I made a size with just a hint of negative ease (41.5″ chest, medium length). When Noel tried it on just off the needles, it was fitted perfectly; after blocking, it had the relaxed drape that he wanted. Like the Thanksgiving dinner where the vest made its debut, it was absolutely perfect. I think this relationship is going to last a long, long time.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “That you only meant well”


  1. […] in 2009, I knit my husband a sweater. Well, a sweater vest. I still wasn’t ready for the full investment of sleeves, I suppose. That sweater vest was […]


Leave a Reply

