This is that time of the year

Pattern: Fetching by Cheryl Niamath
Yarn: Knit Picks Swish Worsted (100% superwash merino), colorways Dublin (top) and Deep Ocean
Needles: U.S. 6 Harmony wood Options 32″ circular needles (magic loop style)

‘Tis the season for teacher gifts, and I had just the yarn in my stash to take care of it. With the leftover balls from the hats I made for Jude and Kate (both one-ball knits, as it turned out), I cranked out two pairs of Fetchings, my go-to gift since 2007 (see here, and here, and here).

I can now get one mitt done in a day, making this a weekend project. Initially I thought I’d knit two-at-a-time on a single circular needle, my preferred method for any paired knit. But Swish doesn’t come in a center-pull ball (or if it does, I couldn’t find the center-pull end), so I settled for making one, then the other. If I’d thought of it, I would have knit both left mitts (one blue, one green) at once, then repeated for the right mitts.

I still haven’t knit this for myself, even though there’s a ball of Swish Worsted in Red Pepper that’s been waiting ever since I knit and loved and gave away my first pair. As fast, easy, and gratifying as it is to make them, I’m betting that I’ll see more go out the door before I get to stuff my own cherry version in my pocket.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “This is that time of the year”


  1. Nice! I cranked out 8 pairs of Fetching one winter; they’re a great quick gift.

    Happy Advent!

  2. Doc Thelma Says:

    Beautiful, as always. You know, fingerless gloves somehow remind me of our Oliver! production.


Leave a Reply

