Like walking on stage

Pattern: Enjoyable-Rib Scarf by Anne K.
Yarn: Moda Dea Tweedle Dee (80% acrylic, 16% wool, 4% nylon), colorway Sahara
Needle: U.S. 11 Zephyr acrylic Options 24″ circulars (knit back and forth)

It all started with this yarn.

The news that Coats and Clark was discontinuing their Moda Dea brand yarn was announced on Ravelry, and somebody commented that they would really miss Tweedle Dee, which had been for years their go-to yarn for gift scarves and hats. I looked it up on Ravelry. Super-bulky shaded colorways? I filed the yarn away in my “watch for this one” mental cabinet. Super-bulky yarns have become a bit of an obsession of mine lately. I’ve been craving the giant squishiness of them, dreaming of huge stitched scarves, blankets, cowls, wraps, sweater-coats.

And then one day it happened: Tweedle Dee appeared on Herrschner’s Yarn Sale site … at 75% off. I pounced. I could barely wait to cast on after it arrived. Weeks of knitting Christmas accessories, an endless sock-yarn scarf, even all the worsted-weight stuff was getting to feel too small and confining. I wanted a Big Knit.

So I spent way to much time flipping through my Ravelry favorites, looking for the goliath scarf I had envisioned. Truthfully, it was Wenlan Chia’s Wisteria (Rav link) that I craved. But I needed a pattern that I had or could get on short notice, not one in a book I didn’t own. After several false starts in various smooshy ribbing and lacey combinations, I returned to this Red Scarf Project standby. It’s got just the combination of a deep texture and openness that I was looking for. Two days later it was done. One day later it had my very first foray into fringe hanging off the end. Six feet of dangly, lofty, drapey winter high fashion.

I rode a rollercoaster of feelings about this colorway while knitting. Dirty snow? Wet beach? Dust bowl? But eventually I decided that despite its periodic ugliness, I really, really liked it. When I wound the scarf around my neck, it felt exactly like my dream. My affection for it meant that I could give it to its intended recipient — Archer’s third grade teacher, a hip young thing — with a clear conscience. But it also meant that giving it away was harder than the spirit of Christmas would dictate.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

