Head out on the highway

Pattern: Kary’s Chevron Scarf
Yarn: Claudia Handpaints Fingering (100% merino), colorways Maple Leaf and Walk In The Woods
Needles: U.S. 5 Zephyr acrylic Options 24″ circular needles (knit flat)

‘Tis the season for gift knit to reach their destinations, and therefore to be revealed here in public! First up is this soft, vibrant scarf with a simple waving chevron pattern. I started this scarf, as I have done so many, because there was a trip coming up. I needed a portable project; all scarves aren’t portable, but the more yardage you can get in one compact hank (meaning fingering or laceweight), the more portable they become. I needed a simple project, something I could knit in conference sessions and on plane; and it doesn’t get much simpler than this 4 row repeat with only one patterned row.

I bought this yarn from dizzysheep.com simply out of a desire to try a yarn that has been used for many beautiful knits on Ravelry and has many rave reviews. It’s just as glorious as I hoped. Soft (especially at this drapey gauge), sproingy, and colors you can get lost in. Comparable to my beloved Koigu PPPM for inspiring colors and amazing, consistent, smooth hand.

And here’s the recipient, my sister-in-law Dawn, who seemed very happy with her scarf. I thought it fit her colorful, extroverted style while remaining elegant and wearable for almost any occasion.

And it provides a nice counterpart to the scarf her husband (my brother Doug) received, which I blogged here some months ago. I’ve now wrapped the necks of everyone on my side of the family … except my father. Time to start working on that for next Christmas.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

