In the sea from you to me

Pattern: One-Row Handspun Scarf by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee
Yarn: Knit Picks Decadence (100% alpaca, discontinued), colorway Tide
Needles: U.S. 9 Signature Needle Arts straights

I admit that I have been on a scarf kick this winter. The advantages to scarf knitting were compelling: Knittable on my beautiful straight needles, portable and easily memorized patterns, one size fits all.

When I unpacked this yarn from my stash, the pattern I had included with it was a pair of felted slippers. But this is luxury yarn. It seemed a shame to use it without patterning, without curb appeal, without pizzaz. So I went looking for scarves that would work with 240 yards of pure alpaca goodness.

It was Teresa — needlenhook on Ravelry — who inspired me. She knit the ultra-simple, insanely rewarding One-Row Handspun Scarf (4000 projects and counting) with this yarn on a nice big needle and then blocked the heck out of it. Suddenly a simple scarf became embracing, luxuriously lacey, almost a stole. When I saw her photos of the scarf draped dramatically around a dress form, I knew I had found what this yarn wanted to be.

My sister-in-law Sherri was the lucky recipient of this glorious knit. I’m sorry to see it leave my needles, my stash, and my gift bin. But I know it will warm and soothe her as much in the wearing as it did me in the knitting. And isn’t that what handknit gifts are all about?

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

