We’re the party people night and day

IMG_6251.JPG

Pattern: Lace Ribbon Scarf by Veronik Avery
Yarn: Berroco Ultra Alpaca Light (50% alpaca, 50% wool), colorway Oceanic Mix
Needles: U.S. 5 Zephyr acrylic Options 24″ circular (knit flat) and Signature straights

IMG_6248.JPG

This pattern has been called the new Clapotis. It’s fashionable, wearable, admits of endless variation based on yarn choice, and has more than 4500 projects on Ravelry. I’ve known I wanted to knit it since it appeared in Knitty two years ago.

But what yarn? I needed enough for a long scarf, since this is a style you want to wrap and let hang. So many possibilities … a fingering weight … a drapey smooth fiber … a larger gauge … the scarf could become so many things based on that one decision. I couldn’t settle.

IMG_6247.JPG

And then, as so often happens, a trip loomed. I needed a project I could knit on the plane, while talking with relatives, anytime, anywhere — and one that I would be in no danger of finishing in a week no matter how much time I devoted to it. I needed this scarf. And under the pressure of necessity, I found the yarn I could devote to it — three skeins of alpaca-wool blend in a beguiling blue-green twist (you can just make out the green flickering through in the above photo) that I had bought on sale in my first year as a knitter. Ravelry projects in similar yarns convinced me that 430 yards would make a scarf of generous length.

IMG_6246.JPG

It only took two or three runs through the simple chart for me to memorize the pattern. I could set it down and pick it up at any time with no trouble knowing what come next. I knit it in class, I knit it with students, I knit it on warm days out by the fountain, and by the end, I was so enamored of its simplicity, lacey gorgeousness, and mesmerizing color that I knit it any time I could. I never wanted it to end.

IMG_6255.JPG

The scarf is stunning. But this is one of those cases where nothing can compare to the pleasure I received from making it, stitch by stitch, eyelet by eyelet, zig by zag. If I find another yarn I’m similarly passionate about, I’ll have another one on the needles before the season is out.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

