Every now and then we hear our song

IMG_6263.JPG

Pattern: Totally Autumn by Anne Hanson
Yarn: Rowan RYC Soft Lux (64% merino, 10% angora, 24% nylon, 2% metallic), colorway Gigli
Needles: U.S. 10.5 Zephyr acrylic Options 60″ circular (knit flat)

Dear Melissa:

Soon you’ll be cozying up with your fiance under this blanket. It’s appropriate, because the making of this blanket has been all about family.

IMG_6264.JPG

During the whole period of its creation, I’ve been initiating my five-year-old daughter into the knitting sorority. Between the start of this blanket and its finish, she has completed two projects and has another WIP on the needles. At the end of each project, she calls a “knitters only meeting” to discuss what we’ll do next.

IMG_6258.JPG

And when I complete a project, she insists on helping me out during blocking by handing me T-pins and blocking wires. Just today she collected the pins as I took this blanket off the wires. In the above photo you can see the wink of the gold metallic strand that wraps around this light, soft, lofty yarn. “Glittery!” Cady Gray exclaims when I ask her opinion of how the knitting has gone.

IMG_6261.JPG

Wet, stretched, and left to dry, the mass of fabric is transformed, unfolding like a flower to its full beauty. I think of how my daughter grows — how I can almost watch her doing it as we sit at a coffee shop like we did today, sipping our tea and smoothie, knitting together, and feeling the warm spring sunlight on our faces. As we craft together, she tries on a new, confident persona. She practices being a friend, chatting and sharing interests, spending time in the company of women.

IMG_6262.JPG

One of our favorite books is The Important Book by Margaret Wise Brown. Today I asked Cady Gray what is the important thing about knitting. “The important thing about knitting,” she mused, “is that you can always give it.” A beautiful sentiment that I send along with this blanket to you in your new married life. And lest you think that all this ruminating on family, on mothers and daughters, on the exclusive company of knitters, means that this is about drawing lines, consider another craft Cady Gray enjoys doing with me. “Beading open to all,” she proclaimed this morning, contrasting quite deliberately with the knitters-only meetings. Everyone welcome.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Every now and then we hear our song”

  1. moonandmuttley Says:

    That is absolutely beautiful!


  2. […] before our Thursday gift-giving deadline, I started a crocheted hat with yarn leftover from my Autumn Leaves blanket, yarn I’d pulled out weeks before as a possibility for a CCC hat. I seized upon the […]


Leave a Reply

