The spotlight is on

IMG_6272.JPG

Pattern: Clover Tweed Dishcloth by noelle
Yarn: Ella Rae Baby Cotton (88% cotton, 12% nylon), colorways Ink and Ecru
Needles: U.S. 6 Signature straights

Does a humble dishcloth deserve its own blog post? Depends on how much you love it.

IMG_6268.JPG

I picked up all of this yarn I could find at an outlet store, immediately went home and cast on. Dishcloths and washcloths are great to have on hand for last-minute hostess and thank-you gifts. The black and natural colors seemed like they might make an unusually elegant specimen. How could I have known how soft this yarn is, how beautifully it drapes at the gauge specified on the ball band? How could I have known how addictive and arresting this stitch pattern would be in smooshy, irresistible garter stitch?

IMG_6266.JPG

In one night, it was finished. My daughter looked at it today and identified the garter ridges — a knitting spotter in the making. I cast on for another black-and-white cloth to make a set, and to continue knitting with this glorious yarn on these glorious needles. Watch out — I may knit with little else until the 13 balls I bought are all gone.

IMG_6271.JPG

It’s just a washcloth, just cotton, just destined for soap and water and scrubbing and tossing in the washer. But its style and touchability inspire me. Imagine a scarf in this pattern, gray on black for a man, bright contrasting colors for a woman. Imagine a whole array of knitted fabrics in the color palette for the home. Sometimes a dishcloth is enough to make you fall in love.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “The spotlight is on”

  1. Doc Thelma Says:

    Someone recently brought a bunch of hand-knit dishcloths into the church kitchen. I love ’em. Someday I’m going to volunteer to do the laundry after Wednesday night supper… and they’ll just have to forgive me if a few accidentally don’t make it back….

  2. Lisa Says:

    Very sharp. I love the B&W. looks quite like herringbone to me. nice.

  3. Shirley Says:

    Ohhh, I like! I’ve given lots of these as gifts… now I have a new pattern just in time to make a couple as a thank you gift for someone.


  4. […] this was exactly what I wanted. After the joyful experience of knitting this cotton for three elegant washcloths, I could not wait to drape my daughter in its sproingy […]


Leave a Reply

