Into action everybody sprang

IMG_6322.JPG

Pattern: Vine Stitch Scarf by Sarah Fama
Yarn: Berroco Blackstone Tweed (65% wool, 25% superkid mohair, 10% angora)
Needles: U.S. 8 Signature straights

Scarves. Scarves. Scarves. I love everything about them. There is nothing bad about knitting a scarf. And a scarf is always wearable. Everybody in your life needs a scarf, so you always have someone to give a scarf to. I have pledged to myself that I will never be without a scarf on the needles again.

IMG_6320.JPG

This one was so easy and fun to knit. It’s one row. I took it everywhere. I picked it up and knit it at the drop of a hat. The yarn is a beautiful teal-dolphinesque tweed, soft and felted. I don’t know if it’s completely right for this pattern, but I don’t care. It’s a joy, the whole thing.

IMG_6234.JPG

I had no idea how the blocking would affect this sort of flat, foggy yarn. What happened was that it held the blocking beautifully. Instead of the ribbing texture you might get in a yarn with more ply and twist in this pattern, I got openwork. It’s light as air, and although it’s wool and mohair and angora, it was perfectly comfortable on this 80-degree day.

IMG_6319.JPG

I want a whole closet full of scarves like this. I was basically wearing jeans and a t-shirt today, and look — the scarf makes it an outfit. Even if they were a chore to knit, I’d want them. But I love knitting them. So there’s pleasure all around.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

