Where nobody dared to go

IMG_6521.JPG

Pattern: Zurich Scarf by Marilyn Losee (large size)
Yarn: NaturallyCaron.com Country (75% acrylic, 25% merino), colorway Foliage
Needles: U.S. 7 & 8 Signature straights

I can’t stop knitting scarves. It’s a sickness. One that will benefit the Red Scarf Project and a college-age orphan somewhere in the U.S. this winter, but a sickness nonetheless.

IMG_6520.JPG

This one sustained me for many thesis presentations and many faculty meetings over the course of a month. I used it to demonstrate to a student how to cable without a cable needle. Every time I pulled it out, I enjoyed the silky sheen and crisp, textural stitch definition of the yarn.

IMG_6515.JPG

I enjoyed every inch of the more than 500 yards of yarn I put into this scarf. Whenever I picked it up, I squeezed the remaining plump skeins and looked forward to the many hours to come. When it was time to knit the final border, I put it off for days.

IMG_6508.JPG

And what a perfect choice for the Red Scarf Project — a timeless cable design that would look great on a man or a woman, a generous length and width, a deep elegant green like a mature magnolia leaf. When I finished I grabbed another bag of heavy yarn and big needles and started on the next unisex scarf. Nothing’s better for knitting to pick up anytime, anywhere. A benevolent addiction from which I never want to recover.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

