Saving all my love for you

IMG_6613.JPG

Pattern: Tricolour Dishcloth by Ali Green
Yarn: Knit Picks Simply Cotton Organic Worsted (100% organic cotton), colorways Malted Milk, Ginger, Toffee
Needles: U.S. 7 Signature straights

The reward for getting long-neglected works-in-progress to finished status is that you can start new stuff. A lot of new stuff. All the new stuff you could possibly want. You can gorge yourself on starting things.

IMG_6614.JPG

Being suddenly free to follow my impulses without restraint, I gathered up all the cotton yarn leftover from recent projects and acquired in bargain bins. I queued up a bunch of multi-color dishcloth patterns. And I was off. First up was this slip-slitch pattern using three of the four colors from my market tote. You could make it quite striking in contrasting colors, or (as I did here) quite muted with neutrals and closely related shades. Either way, it knits up with a nubbly texture and a fascinating interplay between the colors.

IMG_6610.JPG

I went on a similar dishcloth kick when I acquired some cotton a few months back. This time I’ve got even more colors and yarns up my sleeve. But this first effort represents a connection with the elegant black and natural theme of those cloths. Like them, it is stashed away for the next time I need a hostess gift or a contribution to a fundraiser. And shortly, I intend for it to be joined by many, many friends, in increasingly bold and striking combinations — even some splashes of bright color.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Saving all my love for you”


  1. […] each of four organic shades of Simply Cotton Worsted has lasted me through a huge market bag and four full-sized washcloths before finally petering it in this double-thick mini-cloth, knit in moss […]


  2. […] these colors for 25% off. I had worked with Simply Cotton before in the Montevilla Market Bag and several subsequent dishcloths, but I had no memory of its incredible silky feel. The yarn slid like butter […]


Leave a Reply

