And you see me, somebody new

IMG_6633.JPG

Pattern: slip stitch dishcloth by fourchette
Yarn: Ella Rae Baby Cotton (88% cotton, 12% nylon), colorways Ink and Spring
Needles: U.S. 6 Signature straights

My neutral period’s not over, not by a long shot. But every palette of earth tones needs a little jolt of dayglo zazz.

IMG_6634.JPG

This pattern is a riff on the Clover Tweed Dishcloth that I made awhile back. It’s garter stitch with slip-stitching forming the color pattern. That makes for a squishy texture. And since this is a thinner yarn than many used for dishcloths, the effect is almost delicate, drapey. It’s equally at home in a spa or on a sink.

IMG_6632.JPG

I made a half-baked single-crochet hanging loop, proving to myself that I can’t just sort of intuit crochet. It’s almost time for me to learn, though. And even if it’s ugly, it’ll hang. The cloth isn’t ugly at all, though. No, it’s eye-burningly gorgeous. It stands out in the stack of taupe and white and natural and black dishcloths I’ve made like a flamingo in a flock of crows. A splash of color. A highlight.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “And you see me, somebody new”


Leave a Reply

