Now I know my life is giving me more than memories

IMG_6638.JPG

Pattern: Dots Within Stripes by Vicky R. Peterson
Yarn: Knit Picks Simply Cotton Organic Worsted (100% organic cotton), colorways Marshmallow and Ginger
Needles: U.S. 8 aluminum straights

One of my favorite desserts from my mother’s kitchen is an icebox pecan pie. It’s pecans crushed and mixed with graham crackers in the crust, a whipped cream filling, and the delicious crust crumbled over the top, all put in the freezer.

IMG_6641.JPG

The colors of this dishcloth, and the pattern of flecks within stripes, remind me of that pie. Like the pie, this is a luscious, rich, yet subdued cloth. It’s demonstrably handmade, as you can tell if you look for the flaw in the picture below. But it’s obviously also suitable for company and the good china.

IMG_6640.JPG

Dishcloths are such pedestrian, utilitarian objects that arguments regularly break out on Ravelry over whether they’re worth making by hand. What is more precious, though, than those kitchen creations? The taste of a favorite dessert, created from scratch, deserves a kitchen adorned with beautiful and useful linens. Even if none of us are the cooks our mothers are, we can evoke its memory and honor that spirit. Goodness is worth creating and savoring, in consumable and scrubbable forms alike.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Now I know my life is giving me more than memories”


  1. Isn’t food still a form of art, even though it is consumable? Might as well surround it with knitted art.


  2. […] of four organic shades of Simply Cotton Worsted has lasted me through a huge market bag and four full-sized washcloths before finally petering it in this double-thick mini-cloth, knit in moss stitch with […]


  3. […] colors for 25% off. I had worked with Simply Cotton before in the Montevilla Market Bag and several subsequent dishcloths, but I had no memory of its incredible silky feel. The yarn slid like butter through my […]


Leave a Reply

