Watch me programming all the glamorites

IMG_6762.JPG

Pattern: Recycled T-Yarn Round Potholder by RecycleCindy
Yarn: Upcycled T-shirts
Hook: U.S. P/15 (10.00 mm)

Now that I’ve mastered very elementary crochet, I’m eager to see what I can do with it. I have a stash of tarn (cut-up t-shirts) that I’ve been itching to use for crochet because crochet seems a bit more forgiving of uneven gauge and easier to make symmetrical flat shapes out of. Well, I don’t know about that. but after wrestling some of my first tarn — cut with scissors with no control of strip width — through the first few rounds of a potholder pattern, I can see that it would be possible to use better-made tarn and maybe a slightly smaller hook to make functional objects.

IMG_6764.JPG

Pattern: Super Simple Tawashi Flower by Marte Fagervik
Yarn: More tarn
Hook: U.S. P/15

Even though my potholder circle came out slightly lopsided, I wasn’t ready to put away the tarn. So I decided to see how my favorite crochet practice project would look all super-sized. I cropped the clumsy join at the end of the last round out of the bottom of this photo. But like a round of free-association, the fun of going round and round and making a big-ol’ jumbo version of this pattern made me want to …

IMG_6766.JPG

IMG_6758.JPG

IMG_6757.JPG

IMG_6756.JPG

IMG_6755.JPG

IMG_6754.JPG

Pattern: Super Simple Tawashi Flower by Marte Fagervik
Yarn: Leftover dishcloth cotton
Hook: U.S. H/8 (5.00 mm)

Yes, I have a crochet fixation. And I don’t know how to make much else. Plus I have a little bag of leftover dishcloth cotton handy. Add it all together, and you have a growing stack of these things.

IMG_6761.JPG

Somebody point me to some crochet methadone for this pattern, please.

Explore posts in the same categories: Crocheting

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Watch me programming all the glamorites”


  1. I have Begun the Learning of the Crochet.
    OUCH – my brain hurts!
    I can’t figure out how to hold the *(&^$%* yarn or the hook all at once!
    I see a crocheting class in my future, as I need someone to put my hands in the right position or something.
    So far, I can make an awkward foundation chain…


Leave a Reply

