If you’re all alone when the pretty birds have flown

IMG_6802.JPG

Pattern: Simplify by Sally Beaty
Yarn: Caron Simply Soft Shadows (100% acrylic), colorway Pearl Frost
Hook: J/6.0mm

The first thing I tried to crochet, after digesting my instruction book and feeling (for the first time) like I understood what crochet might be getting at, was a sampler scarf. But although I had no problem forming the stitches, I couldn’t keep the count even. So I abandoned rectangles and went to circles. Little tawashi flowers saved the day. I was able to practice and make items with a recognizable shape, not malformed or noticeably irregular.

You know I love scarves, though. I wanted to crochet a scarf. It was going to be a risky endeavor, because I still had no proof that I could crochet something that involved turning and going back the other way at the end of a row. So I pulled out some ancient acrylic for my scarf experiment.

IMG_6799.JPG

I found out I don’t have a right-angle problem anymore.

IMG_6800.JPG

Advantages to the crochet scarf:

  • Goes really fast
  • Sharp, elegant style
  • Sturdy and textured
  • Did I mention fast
  • IMG_6792.JPG

    Just double crochet and single crochet, row on top of row. Looking at the amazingly even rectangle that results makes me feel kind of like a magician. Out of my confusion about these hooks and loops a month ago, I’ve conjured a fabric. I think I’ve graduated out of practice mode.

    Explore posts in the same categories: Crocheting

    Tags: ,

    You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

    3 Comments on “If you’re all alone when the pretty birds have flown”

    1. Sally Says:

      Your scarf looks fantastic! I’m so excited you used my pattern for your first project. 🙂

    2. donnadb Says:

      Thank you, Sally, for a pattern that convinced me I could do it and that gave such a polished result!


    3. Ah, we did the opposite. I felt I had to start with rows and graduate to circles. It took 3 attempts at a dishcloth to get the rows even. Next project: circular crocheted coasters.


    Leave a Reply

