Sending all my love on the wire

IMG_6862.JPG

Pattern: Box Scarf by Vanessa Hailey
Yarn: Red Heart Super Saver (100% acrylic), colorways White and Cherry Red
Hook: J/6.00 mm

It’s been a weekend of unprecedented productivity. I finished a garment. I started and progressed to 50% on a secret baby gift (in reward-myself Malabrigo worsted, no less). And I finished what I think of as beginner’s lesson number three in my crochet odyssey: this granny-square scarf for the 2011 Special Olympics Winter Games in Washington State.

IMG_6863.JPG

The yarn and colors are dictated by the event. Every participant will receive a handmade scarf. What better excuse to advance my skills, get in some practice, and make something that will go to an athlete and a winner?

IMG_6859.JPG

I learned so much making this scarf. Where the first stitch should be placed after a corner cluster. How to join a completed square to one with its last round still being formed, adding each square to the scarf as I went. How to seam the gaps between the joined corners with a slip stitch.

IMG_6868.JPG

Most of all, I learned confidence. Round by round, stitch by stitch, join by join, I felt the movements becoming natural and automatic, the logic of the squares, corners, loops and hook becoming more ingrained. I wish the same confidence for the Olympian who will receive it. And just as he or she will move from that moment to the next life challenge, on I go to the next Special Olympics scarf with a new stitch, a new shape, but the same clarion colors, bright enough to see all the way across the country.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

