And the best one of the year

WordPress.com sent some stats about this blog to me yesterday. Interestingly, my most visited post in 2010 was this 2008 holiday knitting roundup.  Hey, come to think of it, I have a lot of 2010 FO’s that haven’t been blogged because of their secret gift statu.  So here’s this year’s version of that popular post.

IMG_7435.JPG

Pattern: Cardiff Cowl by Lion Brand Yarn
Yarn: Knit Picks Capra (85% merino, 15% cashmere), colorway Platinum
Hook: U.S. H/5.0 mm

My first crocheted cowl. I fell hard for this lacy confection in this substantial yet whisper-soft yarn. Had enough left for …

IMG_7514.JPG

Pattern: Cafe au Lait Mitts by Paula McKeever
Yarn: Knit Picks Capra (as above)
Needles: U.S. 4 Harmony wood Options 24″ circular needles (one-at-a-time magic loop)

… these cloud-like lattice-pattern mitts, the perfect combination of architectural lines and welcoming warmth. Gifted to my sister-in-law Sherry.

IMG_7496.JPG

Pattern: One Row Lace Cowl by milobo
Yarn: Knit Picks Andean Silk (55% alpaca, 23% silk, 22% merino), colorway Bluebell
Hook: U.S. J/5.5 mm

The crochet cowl trend continues. I only used one ball of this favorite yarn of mine for a little zigzag lace neckwarmer, made for my niece Sydney. It seems just her style: feminine but with strong lines and perfect, compact functionality.

IMG_7503.JPG

Pattern: Greenery Hat by Lilith Parker
Yarn: Knit Picks Wool of the Andes Kettle Dyed (discontinued) (100% Peruvian highland wool), colorway Ivy
Needles: U.S. 6 Zephyr acrylic Options 24″ circulars (magic loop)

After all those eyelets and heavenly fibers, I itched for some sculpted cables in firm, sturdy wool. Not only did this hat fully satisfy that urge, but it also made an apt gift for my brother Dwayne, in the forest green of Woodlawn School (where he is founder and principal). I hope it will warm him during chilly cross-country practices for many autumns and winters to come.

IMG_7500.JPG

Pattern: Jacques Cousteau Hat by Lalla Pohjanpalo
Yarn: Knit Picks Wool of the Andes Kettle Dyed (discontinued) (100% Peruvian highland wool), colorway Soot
Needles: U.S. 6 Zephyr acrylic Options 24″ circular needles (magic loop)

Something a bit more traditional for my stepfather-in-law Alex. This very simple hat has a nice depth of color thanks to the semi-solid black/charcoal colorway. The pointy top disappears when it’s pulled firmly onto the head, but adds a touch of whimsy on my smaller-headed model.

IMG_7531.JPG

Pattern: Crocheted Mary-Jane Slippers by Calypso Gray
Yarn: Knit Picks Comfy Worsted (75% cotton, 25% acrylic), colorway Honeydew; Lily Sugar’n Creme (100% cotton), colorway Light Blue
Hook: U.S. H/5.0 mm

And finally, these slippers, which I finished on Christmas Eve — the last project I undertook for Christmas 2010. They are for Alex’s mother Ange. Through them I learned how powerful crochet shaping can be. These are made in one piece starting with just five stitches at the toe. I marveled as they emerged from my yarn and hook. I hope Ange finds them both comfortable and comforting.

Explore posts in the same categories: Crocheting, Knitting

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “And the best one of the year”

  1. Typy Says:

    I’m happy to read my pattern was satisfactory to knit 😀

  2. Jenny Says:

    Were you able to knit the jacques cousteau hat with one skein?
    thanks!


Leave a Reply

