The sky goes on forever in a symphony of song

IMG_0196.JPG

Pattern: Falling Leaves by Jessica Landers
Yarn: Knit Picks Essential (75% merino, 25% nylon), colorway Tuscany Multi
Needles: U.S. 1.5 (2.5mm) 47″ nickel Options fixed circulars (two-at-a-time magic loop)

According to my notes, I started these socks on December 24, 2009. It was Christmas Eve. I must have been just finished with Christmas knitting and craving something for myself, something long-term and of my own choosing, something as different from the large-gauge accessories I was making for friends and family as could be. At least that’s how I imagine it. That was 16 months ago. Frankly, I have no idea what I was thinking.

IMG_0191.JPG

What I do know is that I worked my way past the heel of these toe-up socks and encountered dismay. I had started the gusset too late; the foot was too long. I stuffed them in a bag and pushed them to the back of my pile of WIPs. And there they stayed until after the following Christmas, when I was drawn back to them through guilt about starting anything new for myself when I had a year-old WIP in hibernation. I pulled them out; I tried them on; I decided they weren’t unworkably big, and that I should carry on.

IMG_0190.JPG

And here they are, not form-fitting but perfectly serviceable and quite elegantly patterned. Just as sock weather is ending, I have squeezed in a few wearings, enjoying the workhorse yarn matched with the eyelet lace pattern, like a piece of ornate silver gracing a rough-hewn country table. And I wonder what took me so long, and why so many socks went unknit because these were languishing unfinished.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

