How you dream about each other sometimes

IMG_0488.JPG

Pattern: Gumdrop by Jennifer J. Cirka
Yarn: Knit Picks Simply Cotton Worsted (100% organic cotton), colorways Limeade Heather, Bermuda Heather, Mandarin Heather, Marshmallow
Hook: Etimo Tulip U.S. J/6.0mm

The sun beats down in Arkansas in the summertime. And this year, summer has arrived early. Already we’re flirting with triple digits and high humidity. Everybody needs a hat to keep the sun off their brow.

IMG_0501.JPG

I started this one as soon as the yarn arrived; I ordered the yarn almost as soon as I saw the pattern; I saw the pattern moments after it was published in the inspiring new webzine Tangled. Serendipitously, Knit Picks was having its annual yarn sale, and I snagged all four of these colors for 25% off. I had worked with Simply Cotton before in the Montevilla Market Bag and several subsequent dishcloths, but I had no memory of its incredible silky feel. The yarn slid like butter through my hands.

IMG_0490.JPG

I nearly finished the hat in a single evening; completed the brim and fashioned the bobblelicious flower the next morning. A lot of ends to weave in, but aren’t those brilliant stripes worth it? In choosing colors, I tried to get cool colors, one neutral and one hot accent; you could do the same thing in reverse by having one cool color among a group of warms. The neutral takes on the value of the dominant set of colors, and the single counter-example really pops. Don’t remember where I read that, but it’s great advice.

IMG_0485.JPG

My gauge was off on the small side, my children’s heads are apparently freakishly big (21 for CG, 21.5 for AA), and so I made the extra large size. Fits her perfectly and would fit me in a pinch. Another thing I read somewhere: Kids’ heads are almost the same size as adult ones, at least past toddlerhood. No need to get too anxious about fit. Make it to fit you, and it will work for them.

IMG_0486.JPG

Sun, do your worst. We’re not just protected — we’re in perfect style.

Explore posts in the same categories: Crocheting

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

