When you’re gone, how can I even try to go on?

IMG_0928.JPG

Pattern: Falling Water by Bonnie Sennott
Yarn: Claudia Handpainted Yarns Fingering (100% merino), colorway Sea Dreams
Needles: U.S. 6 24″ Harmony wood Options (knit flat)

I can’t even remember when I started this pattern.  It was travel knitting for some trip.  Maybe last spring, my Dallas conference? And I think I kept going for some time in class.  This is an easy pattern to read one’s knitting, so no pattern is required; move the yarn-over and matching decrease one to the right each rightside row three times, then switcheroo and do the same thing to the left. I know I knit until I had just a small ball of yarn left … then put it aside.

IMG_0926.JPG

And that’s where it stayed until a week or so before I was to leave for Japan. My student Tamami, who is from Tokyo, told her mother I was coming, and her mother insisted on showing me the town. I knew I wanted to bring her something special. Within a few hours, the scarf was finally done and blocking.

IMG_0929.JPG

I love this yarn. The twist is vigorous and the result is a sproingy, light-as-air sock yarn. I bought these skeins in a sale, and used a couple of colorways to make this scarf two years ago for my sister in law. This pastel tone of blues and whites isn’t really my speed, so I always knew I would give this away. I hoped that it would suit Masako.

Masako and her Falling Water scarf

You be the judge. Here she is wearing her scarf outside of a sushi restaurant where she treated me to an amazing dinner. Isn’t she lovely? And the knitting isn’t bad, either. If I do so say myself.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “When you’re gone, how can I even try to go on?”

  1. Coralee Says:

    Two beauties in this post, just like the last post with Cady Gray!! Nice work Donna and what a special gift for a faraway friend.

  2. Amber Stults Says:

    Very nice!

    I read a few different places today about Penguins needing jumpers and thought you might find it interesting. http://www.skeinz.com/Newsletters/spring2011.html


Leave a Reply

