For the love which from our birth over and around us lies

IMG_1530.JPG

Pattern: Reversible Strands by Nancy Smith
Yarn: Lion Brand Wool-Ease (80% acrylic, 20% wool), colorway Avocado
Hook: 4.0mm (G) Tulip Etimo

Once upon a time there was a boy named Jacob. Jacob is a teenager who does not live with his parents. The court decides where Jacob will live. A government agency decides who will take care of him. A lawyer speaks for him in front of a judge. A volunteer makes sure the court hears what he needs. Jacob’s life is often in the hands of strangers.

IMG_1528.JPG

Jacob has a story. But I don’t know that story. Not many people do, other than that volunteer. He was taken away from his parents because they neglected him, or maybe they actively mistreated him. Maybe his parents never wanted him and still don’t want him back. Or maybe they are working to change their lives and make amends and reunite with their son.

IMG_1544.JPG

Although I don’t know Jacob’s story, I know enough to be concerned about him. Because of where the court has placed him, he can’t have many things of his own. That means that he’s probably in a group home of some kind, and not in foster care. He may be exhibiting some of the problem behaviors for which teens like him, teens without parents who took good care of him, are at risk. As a teenage boy, he’s among the least likely group to be adopted. His life is spiraling, but is he on the way up or on the way down?

IMG_1527.JPG

I don’t know Jacob’s story. I know his name, his age, and that what he can receive from me is limited. I made him this hat. It’s reversible; one side has bold spiral ridges, one is deceptively plain. I hope Jacob’s story from here on will include this hat. I hope his life is reversible, and that he will find his footing on a path that leads him out of his unpromising start. I know that my hope, my hat, and my support for the few people who are fighting for his future are all I have to give him. I know that his story deserves to be told. When we hear it — if we do — I hope it has the happy ending we all deserve, no matter what our beginnings might be.

Explore posts in the same categories: Crocheting

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “For the love which from our birth over and around us lies”

  1. Nancy Says:

    thank you for liking my pattern enough to pass the hat to a deserving person. I hope his story turns out on the brighter side, too.


Leave a Reply

