Lightning strikes, maybe once, maybe twice

IMG_2773.JPG

Pattern: Aristida Shawl by Alexandra Beck (Ravelry link)
Yarn: Aslan Trends Santa Fe (100% merino), colorway Crudo
Needles: U.S. 7 Harmony wood Options 32″ circular needle (knit flat)

When I got the magazine containing this pattern in the mail, I flipped through it with Cady Gray. “I’m going to make that right away,” I said, pointing to this shawl. It was dripping with gypsy style — fringe, bobbles, lace. I had nothing like it in my closet. Nothing in my stash spoke to me, but I still put it at the top of my queue and resolved to get to it as soon as possible.

IMG_2760.JPG

A week later, I took Cady Gray on a trip to Tuesday Morning because I had heard there was yarn to be had in the latest merchandise shipment. We filled up a basket and brought it home to be cataloged. That’s when I realized that the beautiful cream-colored springy wool I had four skeins of was fingering weight. The perfect yardage and weight for the Aristida shawl.

IMG_2751.JPG

That’s more fingering weight than I’ve ever used for a single project. But I couldn’t stop knitting it. I wanted to get to the edging to try out the bobbles. I loved the smooth, tightly twisted wool and the novelty (in my knitting history) of the natural color. And I was anxious to know whether I had enough yarn for the fringe.

IMG_2775.JPG

I had plenty — barely touched the fourth skein. And this was an exciting, fulfilling project. Seeing a style that I don’t think of as mine, and being instantly drawn to it. Finding yarn in a color palette I don’t normally choose. Completing a large project in fine yarn in just a couple of weeks. And all these unlikely, serendipitous factors came together in a accessory that fills me with pride.

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Lightning strikes, maybe once, maybe twice”

  1. kathy b Says:

    wow, that is a happy knit story !!! So glad you found a great deal on the yarn and the little gauge was able to keep you happy! The model is a darling!


Leave a Reply

