She couldn’t help thinking that there was a little more to life somewhere else

IMG_1588.JPG

Pattern: Noro Scarf (two-tone diagonal garter stitch) by Suzanne Pietrzak
Yarn: Bernat Mosaic (100% acrylic), colorways Calypso and Spectrum
Needles: U.S. 8 Signature straights

Time to play catch-up! I have several finished objects going back to 2011 that have not yet been blogged. This simple, colorful slant on the classic Noro scarf was completed on the eve of our Craftin’ for CASA sale last year, and was purchased by Claire for her sister Marie.

IMG_2129.JPG

Pattern: Harris Tweed by Luise O’Neill
Yarn: Tuesday Morning Exquisite Chunky (57% merino, 33% microfiber, 10% cashmere), colorway Cream
Needles: U.S. 10 Signature straights

This was also for the CASA sale. I loved knitting this one; this beautiful three-dimensional, fully reversible, unisex-appropriate stitch pattern deserves to be more widely known. I’d also love to get my hands on more of this yarn, which I picked up at Tuesday Morning; some people have said it’s relabeled Rowan Cashsoft.

IMG_2162.JPG

Pattern: Enjoyable-Rib Scarf by Anne K.
Yarn: Moda Dea Tweedle Dee (80% acrylic, 16% wool, 4% rayon), colorway Thunder
Needles: U.S. 10 Signature straights

By my count, I’ve knit this pattern five times. I often go looking for another simple but visually interesting rib pattern for chunky yarn, but I always come back to this one. So satisfying. This one hasn’t found a home yet.

IMG_2118.JPG

Pattern: Habit-Forming Scarf by Elizabeth Morrison (PDF link)
Yarn: Diakeito DiaFelice (50% wool, 28% nylon, 22% mohair), colorway 506
Needles: U.S. 8 Signature straights

I bought this yarn in Japan during my September 2011 visit, and knit it up over the Christmas break. It took me a lot of experimentation to find a stitch that showed off the colors, which are wool and mohair encased in a shimmery nylon casing. I was bedeviled by the fabric’s tendency to curl into a tube, though. If I recall correctly, I donated this to a silent auction to benefit Conway Cradle Care.

IMG_2317.JPG

Pattern: Reversible Cabled Brioche Stitch Scarf by Saralyn Harvey
Yarn: Knit Picks Andean Silk (55% alpaca, 23% silk, 22% merino), colorway Scarlet
Needles: U.S. 7 Signature straights

Ah, brioche stitch. There is nothing like you for squooshy ribbing. Throw in big reversible cables and a luxury yarn, and you have the perfect scarf. Only fault I can find with it is that the complexity of the ribbed reversible cables incorporating yarn-over-heavy brioche made the use of a cable needle (or in my case, a DPN) imperative. I donated this one to the Conway Cradle Care silent auction too. I hope it brought in a good price.

IMG_2555.JPG

Pattern: JustRight Dishcloth by Deborah Ellis
Yarn: Ella Rae Baby Cotton (88% cotton, 12% nylon), colorways Ecru and Ink
Hook: 5.5mm (I) Tulip Etimo

IMG_2556.JPG

Pattern: Squaring the Spiral Dishcloth by Deborah Ellis
Yarn: Ella Rae Baby Cotton (88% cotton, 12% nylon), colorways Ecru and Ink
Hook: 3.5mm (E) Tulip Etimo

Two crochet dishcloths for CG’s second-grade teacher whose favorite fashion look is zebra print. These both come from a lovely e-book of crochet dishcloths, containing patterns both basic and quite striking. I love using this DK-weight cotton blend that I picked up at Tuesday Morning; it’s soft, smooth, and drapey.

IMG_2589.JPG

Pattern: A Beautifully Simple Coaster by Deborah Ellis
Yarn: Louisa Harding Nautical Cotton (100% cotton), colorways Sage and Light Blue
Hook: 4mm (G) Tulip Etimo

And this was the teacher gift for AA’s fifth grade homeroom teacher. I was really itching to crochet up some cotton last December, clearly. More Tuesday Morning yarn; I like the sage green a lot better in combination with the bright blue than alone. Six coasters in the set, three of each color.

IMG_2617.JPG

Pattern: Sixty Cables by Gabi Krisztián (Ravelry link)
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock Solid (80% wool, 20% nylon), colorway Pond
Needles: U.S. 4 and 6 Zephyr Options 24″ circular needle (magic loop style)

I started this faux-cable hat for the Craftin’ for CASA sale, but didn’t finish it in time. Terrific textured hat pattern with just the amount of slouch I like. Still doesn’t have a home; might be part of this year’s upcoming sale for CASA.

IMG_2715.JPG

Pattern: Lacy Baktus by Terhi Montonen
Yarn: Inca Sportlace Hand-Painted (75% wool, 25% nylon), overdyed with Easter egg dye
Needles: U.S. 5 Zephyr Options 24″ circular (knit flat)

This is one of the two skeins I overdyed (full story here) in my first crockpot kettle dyeing experiment. I started with the colorway I liked less, the reds and pinks and yellows, just to see how the fabric looked knitted up. When I ran out of yarn, I added a purple corner in Knit Picks Palette (leftovers from my Endpaper Mitts). Although at the time I liked it as a homage to a very famous version by bluepeninsula (used as a guide and inspiration by many Ravelers), every time I put it on I worry that it just looks like a kludge. So I haven’t actually worn it yet, and might end up donating or selling it.

Dishcloth for Ellen

Pattern: Forked Cluster Stitch Washcloth by Oshinn Reid
Yarn: Knit Picks Simply Cotton Worsted (100% cotton), colorway Bermuda Heather
Hook: 5.5mm (I) Tulip Etimo

Practically Hyperbolic dishcloth for Ellen

Pattern: A Practically Hyperbolic Dishcloth by Deborah Ellis
Yarn: Knit Picks Simply Cotton Worsted (100% cotton), colorway Bermuda Heather
Hook: 5.5mm (I) Tulip Etimo

Two quick crochet washcloths made as a housewarming gift for a new faculty member. The Practically Hyperbolic was already a favorite; the Forked Cluster Stitch was new to me and made a very handsome texture. I’ll definitely use it again. Excuse the horrible indoor Instagram photography — I only had to time to snap a quick pic after they were given.

Believe it or not, there’s still more … but that’s enough for one day and one post!

Explore posts in the same categories: Crocheting, Knitting

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

