I know all at once who I am

IMG_3651.JPG

Pattern: HoneyCowl by Jessica K.
Yarn: Knit Picks Biggo (50% nylon, 50% merino), colorway Carnelian
Needles: U.S. 11 Harmony wood Options 24″ circulars (magic-loop)

2012 was not about planning. All year, it seemed, events simply overtook me, and all I could do was hang on and ride the wave. In some areas of my life, that was frustrating, as things I wanted to accomplish fell by the wayside and ordinary life ground to a halt, victims of crisis after crisis. But in my knitting, I was able to embrace the tide and roll with the unexpected. Indeed, I often looked forward to it.

IMG_3661.JPG

Such was the case when Knit Picks offered a free hank of their bulky merino blend Biggo. Free yarn? Yes, please. When it came, the color, lightness, and silky-soft hand reminded me of the Misti Alpaca Chunky I used for my Raspberry Layers. I couldn’t resist finding a one-skein pattern and getting started right away.

IMG_3652.JPG

Nine days later I was casting off. Extreme texture, vibrant color, a chunky barrier against the cold, a bold splash against winter’s gray. Who needs planning or predictability when life brings you free yarn and the time to knit it?

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

