It’s kind of like the opposite of an aerial view

IMG_7354.JPG

Pattern: Sockhead Hat by Kelly McClure
Yarn: Knit Picks Essential Kettle Dyed (75% merino, 25% nylon), colorway Auburn
Needles: U.S. 1 1/2 40″ Options nickel fixed circulars

IMG_7356.JPG

During my trip to Atlanta, I needed two things from my knitting. I needed to be able to make progress on the hats project for Conway Cradle Care. And I needed fingering weight yarn so the hat wouldn’t be done in a matter of hours.

IMG_7360.JPG

Enter this skein of Essential (the sock yarn Knit Picks has now rebranded as Stroll), bought on clearance this past March as the site was getting rid of its 100g skeins under the old label. And enter a simple ribbing-and-stockinette floppy hat that uses upwards of 350 yards of it. Simple enough to knit in a meeting or a conference session. Slow enough to last the whole trip.

IMG_7361.JPG

In the skein you could barely see any color variation — a point that many buyers complained about when purchasing yarn marketed as “kettle dyed,” since that process normally results in randomly placed darker and lighter shades of the base color. But knit up, the variations are just noticeable. I didn’t know how they’d photograph, but take a hard look at the two close-ups above. Subtle, but just enough to give the simple stitch and shape depth and interest.

IMG_7353.JPG

Perfectly fashionable, perfectly light, perfectly warm, and perfect for the knitting I needed to do. Everybody wins!

Explore posts in the same categories: Knitting

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “It’s kind of like the opposite of an aerial view”

  1. Coralee Says:

    Your daughter is such a good sport, what a model, cute too! When I saw the needle size, I thought, is she crazy??? Makes perfect sense after I read the remainder of the post. Happy Knitting my friend.


Leave a comment